This breakfast cereal was invented in Michigan and is now a household staple in the United States. But are corn flakes gluten free?

“Can you think of anything that is more American than cornflakes?” Bing Crosby sang, and nothing could be further from the truth!  Do you enjoy a hearty breakfast of cereal like corn flakes? 

Cereal is a great quick and straightforward breakfast choice, especially if you have a lot to get done before heading out to work or dropping the kids off at school. 

Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?

Gluten is a protein in barley, grain, rye, and particular oats, among other cereals. People on gluten-free meals should avoid gluten for medical reasons or for those who are gluten sensitive. For example, the fourth ingredient of Kellogg’s Corn Flakes cereal, a perennial morning staple, is “malt flavoring.”

Unfortunately for fans of the cereal, malt flavoring includes gluten in the type of barley. Thus, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes lies on the “no” list for anyone with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

While maize is inherently gluten-free, most standard corn flake cereals add gluten-containing flavorings and sweeteners. If you complete a gluten-free diet and eat corn, read all labels to ensure that your corn flakes are gluten-free.

If you’re novel to a gluten-free lifestyle diet or have been following one for a while, you already know that testing every meal that enters your body for gluten is a must.

Some cereal producers add gluten-containing substances during manufacturing, such as barley malt sweetener. 

That’s why, currently, we’re going to look at a particular subset of cereal that you’ve already been eating for years without realizing it contains gluten.

In this article, we’ll look at corn flakes to see if they’re gluten-free, what they’re comprised of, and some companies to search for the next time you go grocery shopping. 

What are corn flakes? 

The fundamental component in this popular cold cereal is white corn grits. Flavoring, salt, sugar, nuts, coloring, and fruits are added after the corn flakes have been roasted. Different recipes are created to suit the preferences of various people.

Hydrothermal treatment, pre-drying, flaking, roasting, and chilling are the five essential stages in manufacturing facilities.

After being steamed and turned in a cooker to ensure uniform cooking, it is run throughout a roller miller to make it more flexible. The grits are then dried with a vertical airflow before rolling into flakes.

After that, coat it with extra ingredients. Heat roasting the corn flakes gives them a crunch. In the final step, they are cooled on a conveyor belt.

Other tastes are introduced, like almonds, chocolate, seasonings, fruit, etc. You can also learn so much about how corn flakes are made here. 

bowl of corn flakes with milk and a strawberry

Are there gluten free corn flakes? 

Even though maize is a gluten-free component, many corn flakes are not gluten-free. Several products, however, include gluten-containing flavoring or sweetener.

Cross-contamination is also possible if prepared in a facility that handles wheat or other gluten-containing foods. 

Malt, as well as barley, are by far the most typical substances that are dangerous. In the recipe, look for malt flavored, malted milk, malted syrup, malt vinegar, malt extract, and malted barley flour. 

Keep an eye out for the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) label on the box, certifying the food as gluten-free.

Also, keep an eye out for labels that say “may contain traces of gluten.” According to FDA requirements, if it’s labeled gluten-free, it’s been tested and proven to contain less than 20ppm of gluten. 

Traditional Kellogg’s corn flakes are wheat-free, but they do contain barley, which might cause gluten sensitivity in certain people.

In the United States, Kellogg’s does not currently offer a gluten-free corn flake variant. However, the firm says it “may provide further gluten-free choices in the future”. Gluten-free corn flakes are already available in Australia. 

What is gluten?  

Gluten is a protein found throughout most wheat products that function as a “glue” to keep wheat, barley, Kamut, spelled, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together. 

Gluten is a naturally found protein that is hard to remove from grains. There is no way to make a grain gluten-free if it contains gluten naturally. 

What are corn flakes made of?

While many manufacturers of cornflake cereal exist, we’re going to focus on Kellogg’s Corn Flakes for this discussion. As per the Kellogg’s website, the components in Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are: 

  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride)
  • Folic acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12
  • Milled corn
  • Sugar
  • Malt flavor
  • It contains 2% or less salt
  • Vitamins and minerals: iron (ferric phosphate)

Are corn flakes safe for celiac people?  

When you burst open a packet of crispy, golden corn flakes, you’ll notice that they look and taste exactly like the gluten-free version. 

Although Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are not gluten-free since they include malt flavoring produced from barley, they are not suggested for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Kellogg’s isn’t the only brand of corn flakes available. The corn flakes brands listed below are gluten-free and suitable for people living with celiac disease. 

Which corn flakes are gluten free?

While shopping for gluten-free corn flake cereal, there are some features to watch. Check for “malt taste” or “barley malt” on the nutrition label. It is a clear indication of gluten in the cereal’s formula. 

Then, to be exact, look for a gluten-free label. According to the FDA, gluten-free labels are only applied to products that have been tested to confirm that they contain less than 20ppm of gluten.

Gluten free corn flakes:

Luckily, there are gluten-free corn flakes choices for those who desire them. Here are just a few famous gluten-free corn flakes manufacturers: 

Corn Flakes from Nature’s Path 

These organic cork flakes are sweetened with fruit juice (grape and pear juices) rather than sugar. As a result, you might notice that this cereal is less sweet and has a different appearance than the maize flakes you’re used to having. According to the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, they’re gluten-free, non-GMO, and natural.  

Corn Flakes Erewhon 

These cereals aren’t a straight substitute for typical sweet flavored corn flakes. It is manufactured by Attune Foods and has no additional sweetness. The only two components are organic ground maize and sea salt, which are used to “increase the exquisite sweetness of the corn,” as per the producer. The GFCO has certified the cereal as gluten-free and non-GMO, and organic.  

Amazon Flakes by EnviroKidz 

The nearest you’ll get to Kellogg’s Corn Flakes is a mouthful for a nibble. These corn flakes are prepared with licensed organically grown cornmeal and natural cane sugar by Nature’s Path (which also creates other EnviroKidz cereals and other items). The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which examines production facilities, is certified gluten-free

Cheerios  

Cheerios is one of the most well-known morning cereals, yet many people are unaware that it is gluten-free. They are supplemented with vitamins and minerals, including iron, calcium, and vitamin D, and are produced from whole grain oats. They are also inexpensive and convenient. They’re also cheaply priced, sugar-free, and liked by kids of all ages. 

 Cereals Chex  

Except for Wheat Chex, the Chex brand provides seven gluten-free cereal varieties: rice, maize, honey-nut, cinnamon, chocolate, vanilla, and blueberry. The key selling feature is that they are all free from chemicals, colors, flavors, and preservatives. 

Mesa Sunrise of Nature’s Path  

Mesa Sunrise Corn Flakes* are made of cornmeal, cornflour, buckwheat flour, quinoa, amaranth, flax seeds, sea salt, and tocopherol and are enriched with Ala Omega-3. This organic, vegan cereal comes in Eco Pacs and has crispiness until the last taste. These gluten-free cornflakes are a delicious low-calorie complement to your diet. 

Golden Turmeric Cereal from Nature’s Path  

Gluten-free certification is available for this Nature’s Path Cereal*. Cornmeal, cinnamon, spices, cane sugar, dried coconut, amaranth, quinoa, yellow corn flour, honey, turmeric, sea salt, vanilla, and cardamom flavoring are used in its production. The “Golden Spice” causes the milk to become golden. This delectable breakfast is packaged in an EnviroBox, constructed of recyclable paper and decorated with vegetable-based dye. However, due to the honey, this item is not vegan. 

Purple Acai cereal from Nature’s Path 

Purple Acai Corn Flakes* are made with cornmeal, quinoa, amaranth, honey, sea salt, black carrot juice concentrate (anthocyanin), blueberry flavoring, and a berry powder meld to turn your milk magenta. A nutritious and delectable breakfast is made with Chile’s maqui berry, Amazonian acai berries, and African baobab fruits. In milk, these crispy corn flakes remain crisper longer. 

Gluten-Free Corn Flakes from Nestle 

Coeliac U.K. has validated these Nestle Corn Flakes*. Amazon imports these kosher corn flakes from Europe made with maize, sugar, vitamins, and minerals. This sweetness in a bowl is held together by a light, crunchy texture. They also sell GoFree Honey Flakes, created with the same components as the original but have a sweeter taste due to honey, molasses, and sugar syrup. 

Corn Flakes from Barbara’s Bakery  

Non-GMO maize, organic fruit juice extract, and sea salt make Barbara’s corn flakes. This item comes with a warning that it is made from a plant that handles soy, peanuts, almonds, and wheat. It does, however, declare that it is gluten-free with fewer than 20 parts per million. 

Mainstream products  

If you seek gluten-free corn flakes in a significant cereal brand found in most supermarkets, your options are limited. 

General Mills’ Corn Chex is one alternative that can satisfy your sweet corn appetite. Seven of General Mills’ eight Chex cereal kinds are gluten-free, including corn, chocolate, cinnamon, honey nut, and Rice Chex. With so many gluten-free cereal alternatives on the market, you’re bound to discover something you like. 

corn flakes close up

Corn flakes as an alternative to breadcrumbs 

Corn flakes can be used in a variety of ways. So, let’s explore and create gastronomic pleasures outside the confines of the breakfast bowl. 

Cornflakes’ sweet, ultra-crunchy flavor is an excellent substitute for fried onions or bread crumbs. Add them to a bag and hit them with a rolling pin to produce crumbs.

You can coarsely smash them to produce a gluten-free, crispy coating for any breaded food. Before baking, you can also sprinkle on your mac and cheese or top-packed veggies like zucchini or mushrooms. 

Are corn flakes a dairy-free cereal? 

Most corn flakes cereals, including Kellogg’s Corn Flakes, have no dairy components. It is a safe alternative if you also maintain a dairy-free diet. To keep your cereal completely dairy-free, make sure you use dairy-free milk.

If you like corn flakes for breakfast, I hope you’ve discovered the knowledge you need to make a knowledgeable decision the next time you go grocery shopping.

Kellogg’s corn flakes are not gluten-free, but alternative brands and options are readily available that taste quite close to Kellogg’s without the gluten. 

Corn flakes and a gluten-free diet  

An allergen diet is not always restrictive for those who follow it today. Although Kellogg’s corn flakes are not gluten-free, buyers may pick from a range of gluten-free corn flake products. 

Millions of individuals now avoid gluten. Celiac illness or another gluten-related condition causes some people to avoid gluten. Some people avoid gluten because it helps them feel better.

Gluten may be present in wheat, barley, and rye foods. Due to cross-contamination, it can also be detected in other grains like oats.

Look for a verified gluten-free emblem while shopping for gluten-free items. It signifies the item has fewer than 20 parts per million glutens in the U.S. Ensure availability of wheat in allergy declarations as well. 

We’ve done our most OK to ensure the ethnicity of these corn flakes is noticed. It’s usually better to consult with a certified dietician or clinician when starting a gluten-free diet. 

Using gluten-free substitutions 

Any gluten-free options listed above are used in place of non-gluten-free cornflakes. That implies they can be stored the same way as regular corn flakes, retained for the same amount of time, and may be used as a 1:1 substitute in baking without affecting the texture or final result. 

The main difference is that you are less likely to develop the same sensitivities with cross-contaminated or gluten-containing foods. 

Other related articles:

  1. Are Avocados Good For You? 
  2. Cumin Nutrition And Benefits
  3. Arugula Benefits
  4. Health Benefits Of Ginger
  5. Are Garbanzos Good For You?

If you enjoyed this article, “Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?”, and would love to see more, join me on YoutubeInstagramFacebook & Twitter!

Get discounted copies of my cookbook here.

Fortunately, because of the Ads on our website, readers and subscribers of Healthier Steps are sponsoring many underprivileged families.