Have you ever considered whether or not baking powder contains gluten? You need not worry since you are not the only one. So, is baking powder gluten free?

Discover the answer to this question and much more by reading this article that discusses baking powder in relation to celiac disease and a diet that does not contain gluten.

What is baking powder?

In the world of baking, one of the most often encountered components is baking powder. When following a gluten-free diet, it is essential to check that the products you use do not contain gluten; thus, the most significant question is whether or not baking powder is gluten-free.

Baking powder does not contain gluten, but there is more information that you need to know about gluten-free baking and a gluten-free diet that you can get by continuing to read.

Baking powder is a dry chemical leavening ingredient that contributes to the airy, light texture of baked foods such as cakes, muffins, and bread.

It differs from natural leaveners like yeast in that it releases carbon dioxide into the batter or dough. This gas generates little bubbles in the mixture, which expand and help the baked item rise as it cooks.

Yeast is an example of a natural leavener. Baked foods that lack leavener are thick, lack volume, and are difficult to chew.

Baking powder does not include any of the four types of grains (wheat, rye, barley, or triticale) that are known to contain the protein gluten.

As a result, baking powder is naturally gluten-free. However, some manufacturers may add starch to their commercial items in order to protect them from early chemical reactions that may occur while they are being stored; this starch may or may not contain gluten.

Ingredients in baking powder

Baking powder is a leavening chemical that may be obtained at any grocery shop. Baking relies heavily on this component, which comes in the form of a fine white powder. Your baked items will not rise properly if you do not use it.

If baking powder is such an important component, it begs the question: what exactly does it consist of? It is a composite product made up of a variety of different components.

Baking soda, an acid (such as sodium aluminum sulphate or cream of tartar), and a starch are the three ingredients that are commonly present.

Baking powder does not immediately react due to the presence of an acid. Once water is introduced, only then will the acid begin to react. Baking powder usually contains tartar as its acid ingredient.

Baking powder is gluten-free since it is often made using corn-starch or potato starch instead of wheat flour.

The presence of starch in baking powder allows it to more effectively absorb moisture, hence extending the shelf life of baking soda.

You will need one part baking soda, two parts cream of tartar, and one part cornstarch in order to produce your own baking powder.

You will either notice “double-acting baking powder” or “single acting baking powder” on the container of your baking powder. So, I’m sure you are wondering, “What is the difference?”

In a nutshell, a double-acting baking powder undergoes two separate reactions, each of which results in the production of carbon dioxide bubbles.

When baking powder is combined with a liquid, this triggers the reaction for the first time. The baking powder will react for a second time when it is subjected to heat, which will cause the reaction.

The amount of acid that is present in baking soda is what determines whether or not the baking soda has a single or double-acting reaction.

Baking sodas with a single action include acids that only react when exposed to heat and not when a liquid is added.

Mixing double-acting ones with baking soda, monocalcium phosphate, and sodium aluminum sulphate is the most typical preparation method.

Baking powder in a glass bowl and spoon

What is gluten?

The majority of wheat products include gluten, a protein that serves as the “glue” that keeps grains including wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together and in shape.

Since gluten is a natural component of grains, it is difficult to remove it. There is no way to make a product gluten-free if the grain already contains gluten. It is frequently included in goods as a binding agent or flavor.

Is baking powder gluten free?

Baking soda, cream of tartar, and a starch are used to make baking powder. The baking powder will be gluten-free if all three of the components in the recipe are also gluten-free.

While some baking powders are created using wheat starch, others are made with cornstarch. To ensure you’re purchasing one containing cornstarch, check the ingredients list.

Making your own baking powder at home using baking soda, cream of tartar, and another starch, such as arrowroot or tapioca starch, may be an option if you can’t handle corn in your diet.

If you glance at the package, you can determine whether the baking powder you’re going for is gluten-free. To obtain the information you need to make a wise choice, look for a gluten-free label.

How to use baking powder in gluten free baking?

Gluten-free recipes sometimes require a little additional assistance when it comes to leavening because typical gluten substitutes aren’t as elastic as real gluten.

There are two types of baking powder: single-acting and double-acting. Use double-acting baking powder for making gluten-free baked goods. 

The difference is as follows:

Baking soda with a single action: The baking powder immediately starts its chemical reaction when combined with the moist components that also contain an acid. The batter has to be baked right away in the oven.

Double-action baking powder: When the wet components are combined with the baking powder, a chemical reaction is set in motion.

Then, while it bakes, a second chemical reaction starts because the product includes a second “high heat” acid that is activated by heat. A higher, lighter texture is the outcome.

The only catch is that sodium aluminum sulphate (SAS), which is frequently found in double-acting baking powder, can give food a metallic flavor.

This happens especially when more baking powder is used, as is the case with gluten-free baking. To prevent this flavor, pay close attention to brands that are particularly designated as “aluminum-free.”

How to make gluten free baking powder?

You can manufacture your own baking powder quite quickly if you can’t find gluten-free baking powder in your neighborhood grocery shop or online or if you’re concerned about potential cross-contamination problems.

Only three ingredients are required: one teaspoon each of baking soda, cornstarch, and cream of tartar. These components should combine to yield 1 tablespoon of baking powder that is completely gluten-free.

For every cup of flour, recipes normally ask for 1 teaspoon of baking powder. Therefore, feel free to modify the formula to produce whatever much baking powder you require.

You only need to store the baking powder in an airtight glass or Tupperware container in your pantry or cabinet (or really any cold, dry spot) for your upcoming baking requirements because the cornstarch helps to keep the combination stable.

If you go a long time without using your baking powder, be sure to keep track of the date you made it and make sure it has not gone bad before using it again.

Simply mix 13 cup of hot water with 1 teaspoon of your own baking powder. If the water does not fizz and bubble, the baking powder has expired. You will then need to discard it and start again with a new batch.

Where to buy gluten free baking powder?

Despite the fact that baking powder is gluten-free, it is still vital to check the label to make sure. Check the allergy declarations before ingesting if you have celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.

Here is a list of manufacturers whose baking powder claims to be gluten-free in accordance with its components.

However, we make a distinction between those marked gluten-free and those that are not. According to the FDA’s labelling regulations, “gluten-free” packaging indicates that cross-contamination can only occur with less than 20 ppm, which is a level that has been approved as acceptable by celiac disease specialists.

  • Argo: It is a gluten-free double-acting baking powder containing two different types of acids (Sodium bicarbonate, Corn starch, Monocalcium phosphate, Sodium acid pyrophosphate)
  • Bob’s Red Mill: This double-acting, gluten-free baking powder contains two different types of acids (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate)
  • Clabber Girl: This double-acting, gluten-free baking powder contains two different types of acids (Sodium bicarbonate, Corn starch, Monocalcium phosphate, Sodium Aluminum Sulfate)
  • Davis: It is a double-acting baking powder with two different types of acids that is marked as gluten-free, according to Davis (Sodium bicarbonate, Corn starch, Monocalcium phosphate, Sodium Aluminum Sulfate)
  • Goldbaums: It is a gluten-free double-acting baking powder containing two different types of acids (Potato starch, sodium pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, and calcium sulfate)
  • Hain Pure Foods Featherweight: It reads “gluten-free” (Monocalcium phosphate, Potato starch, Potassium bicarbonate)
  • I’m Free: It’s marked as being gluten-free (Non-trans palm lipid, sodium acid phosphate, sodium bicarbonate)
  • Royal: It is a gluten-free double-acting baking powder containing two different types of acids (Sodium bicarbonate, Cornstarch, Monocalcium phosphate, Sodium Aluminum Sulfate)
  • Rumford: It is marked as being gluten-free (Cornstarch, Sodium bicarbonate, Monocalcium phosphate).

You should look at the allergy listing if the container does not include a gluten-free label on the front. “Allergy Information” or “Contains: Wheat” are common phrases that are used.

Look for the terms wheat, rye, barley, or anything relating to gluten in the ingredients list if you do not see the allergy information.

So, is baking powder gluten free?

Since it only has a few gluten-free components, baking powder is devoid of the protein. Your baked items will be stale if you do not use baking powder since dough won’t rise during baking. To be safe, ensure that everything you purchase is devoid of gluten.

Other related articles:

  1. Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?
  2. Is Buckwheat Gluten Free?
  3. Is Quinoa Gluten Free?
  4. High Fiber Gluten Free Foods
  5. Are Avocados Good For You? 
  6. Are Garbanzos Good For You?

If you enjoyed this article, “Is Baking Powder Gluten Free”, and would love to see more, join me on YoutubeInstagramFacebook & Twitter!

Get discounted copies of my cookbook here.

Fortunately, because of the ads on our website, readers and subscribers of Healthier Steps are sponsoring many underprivileged families.