Did you ever come across a recipe that required coconut aminos but you didn’t have that? We are certain that you ditched the recipe but you no longer have to. That’s because we are sharing the substitutes for coconut aminos, so get ready to wear the chef’s hat!

Coconut Aminos – What Is It?

To begin with, this is the seasoning sauce with a savory flavor and a soy-free configuration. Coconut aminos are made from sea salt and tree sap of coconut which results in a mild sweet flavor.

It is often confused with tamari but it has a unique umami flavor. It is free from soy, gluten, and wheat. For the most part, it is vegan-friendly, paleo-friendly, and keto-friendly. However, it’s not always easy to find which is why we have got substitutes for you!

1. Soy Sauce

This is the best substitute for people who don’t have an issue with soy and gluten. This substitution is possible in a 1:1 ratio but you have to keep in mind the saltier flavor. We suggest that you start with ¾ or ½ amount of soy sauce to ensure your recipe’s flavor isn’t compromised. The best part about using soy sauce is that it’s readily available and is extremely affordable.

The salty flavor tends to be more pronounced as compared to the sweeter flavor of coconut aminos, so keep this in mind while substituting these ingredients. In addition, soy sauce 65% higher sodium content and it’s something that you must remain aware of.

What we love about soy sauce is that it works as a perfect condiment for various recipes. It tastes absolutely magic with wontons and egg rolls. Some people also add it to the salad dressing

2. Tamari

For people who are looking for a gluten-free substitute, you can opt for tamari, as it’s made from soy. It’s safe to call tamari a Japanese version of our same old soy sauce. However, tamari has soy but it’s still gluten-free. As far as the flavor is concerned, it’s pretty identical which means you can opt for a 1:1 substitute ratio.

Tamari doesn’t have wheat because it’s basically the byproduct of miso paste. For this reason, it can be added to gluten-free recipes and foods.

However, you must check the ingredients list because it will help keep the allergies at bay. As for the flavor, tamari has a mildly salty flavor but the umami taste is pretty strong since there is a high soybean percentage.

3. Liquid Aminos

Liquid aminos are often confused with coconut aminos but it’s a completely different ingredient. Before we move forward, let us tell you that it’s not suitable for people who have soy allergies. What we like about liquid aminos is that it has a low sodium count as compared to other substitutes. In addition, it’s suitable for people who want to reduce their salt intake.

Liquid aminos can be used in place of coconut aminos in a 1:1 ratio. It’s important to outline that liquid aminos can be used in rice and noodles. Moreover, it’s perfect for sauteing vegetables and stir-fry recipes.

You May Also Like These Other Substitutes

  1. Substitute For Buckwheat Flour
  2. Substitute For Turbinado Flour
  3. Arrowroot Flour Substitute
  4. Psyllium Husk Substitute
  5. Substitute For Thyme

If you enjoyed this post and would love to see more, join me on YoutubeInstagramFacebook & Twitter

Get discounted copies of my cookbook here.

Also please leave a star rating ;-)

Need some encouragement on your Healthier Steps journey?

Join our Facebook groups, sharing lots of delicious vegan and gluten-free recipes, health tips, etc., from our members. Please join us and invite your friends to Gluten-Free and Vegan For Beginners and Vegan Recipes With Love.