You may hear of xanthan gum being used as an ingredient in gluten-free foods. So what is xanthan gum? Read more to find out!

Is xanthan gum vegan?

Xanthan gum, also known as E415 in the EU, is one of those components that vegans often struggle to determine whether or not it is vegan-friendly.

The trouble is, xanthan gum is a particularly perplexing food ingredient for vegans due to the manner in which it is manufactured. Is xanthan gum vegan then?

The answer is that it is entirely dependent on the kind of sugar utilized in the fermentation process: glucose, sucrose, or lactose.

If this seems perplexing to you, have no fear. Let’s get down to business!

There is no definitive answer since it is entirely dependent on how the xanthan gum was grown. As a high-fiber carbohydrate that can be extracted by sugar fermentation, xanthan gum may be made in a variety of methods.

Xanthan gum is often vegan since it is derived from maize, soy, or wheat fermentation. You may learn more about the production in the sections below.

However, xanthan gum may be manufactured using non-vegan ingredients such as whey and egg whites. Clearly, xanthan gum obtained from animal sources is not vegan.

Unfortunately, there is no simple method for a customer to determine if the xanthan gum was fermented using vegan or animal-derived ingredients. The only way to find out is to contact the company.

Alternatively, you may adhere to purchasing items that are explicitly labeled vegan, which ensures that the contents are devoid of animal byproducts.

What is xanthan gum?

Xanthan gum is a food additive that is made by fermenting simple sugars—most notably glucose in the form of corn—with the bacterium Xanthomonas campestris.

Fermentation converts the sugars to a sticky broth, which is then added to isopropyl alcohol, which solidifies the sugary soup. The solid is then dried and processed into a powder, which is subsequently rehydrated and used as a thickening and stabilizer in a variety of industrially manufactured items, from French bread to face cream to fungicides.

When xanthan gum is combined with water, it creates a gel-like material that emulsifies oil and water-based substances and balances wet and dry ingredients without imparting a slimy texture to the product.

Additionally, xanthan gum is an excellent thickener since it retains its viscosity at room temperature and aids in the pouring or pressing of items, which is why it is used in toothpaste, medications, and even chocolate syrup.

You also may discover xanthan gum in gluten-free baked products, where its binding properties compensate for the food’s absence of gluten.

Xanthan gum uses:

Take a stroll down almost any grocery store’s center aisle and pick up a package—a there’s decent chance xanthan gum will appear on the ingredients list. Xanthan gum may be found in the following plant-based foods:

Soy products:

Xanthan gum aids in the thickening and stabilization of liquid goods, such as soy milk. Every day is a better day to do what you love.

Syrups and sauces:

Pouring chocolate over your plant-based ice cream or strewing marshmallow fluff on top? These delectable ingredients very certainly include xanthan gum.

Baked goods:

Xanthan gum is a frequent component in a variety of processed baked products, including rolls, crusts, dry mixes, and cereal bars.

Dressings, sauces, and spreads:

Xanthan gum is particularly common in pourable and low-fat salad dressings, but it is also present in vegan barbeque, taco, and pasta sauces.

Additionally, xanthan gum may be included in your plant-based butter or margarine. Additionally, relish and other vegan sandwich spreads may include xanthan gum.

Egg substitute:

As vegan alternatives become more prevalent on the market, producers are searching for methods to enhance the feel of these innovative meals. To the rescue, xanthan gum!

Frozen foods

Frozen meals often incorporate xanthan gum to improve the texture of the dish, particularly after warming.

Vegan burgers and patties:

Vegan veggie patties, like other processed meals, may include xanthan gum to prevent the patty from falling apart.

Beverages:

Soy milk is the most often used vegan beverage that contains xanthan gum. Additionally, you may find it in cocktail mixes and other beverages.

Is xanthan gum keto?

As previously stated, sugar is a necessary component in the production of xanthan gum. Bacteria eventually ferment sugar throughout the process.

Is xanthan gum thus incompatible with a ketogenic diet? Not necessarily.

Due to the fact that the fermentation process finally transforms the sugar to dietary fiber, the end result is a product with no net carbs.

As a result, it is technically ketogenic.

Is xanthan gum gluten free?

Due to the fact that certain producers ferment xanthan gum using wheat and barley as a substrate, xanthan gum may contain residues of gluten.

However, if xanthan gum powder is offered as a baking ingredient, it is often declared gluten-free on the packaging.

Thus, the majority of xanthan gum products may be used to avoid gluten, a particularly aggressive lectin that has been shown to induce perforations in the intestinal wall.

How many carbs in xanthan gum?

Approximately 78 grams of carbohydrates are included in 100 grams of xanthan gum. However, the full 78 grams of fiber is considered dietary fiber. As a result, they do not constitute net carbs since they are excreted by the body.

Xanthan gum substitutes:

If you want to avoid xanthan gum due to the possibility that it is produced from animal products or are just seeking for an alternative, you have come to the right place. Find substitutes for xanthan gum here.

More vegan ingredient information:

What Is Agar

Substitutes for Xanthan Gum

What Is Psyllium Husk

Health Benefits of Chia Seeds

Are Avocados Good For You?

Health Benefits of Coconut Oil

When Should You Eat Dried Fruit?

If you enjoyed this post about What Is Xanthan Gum and would love to see more, join me on YoutubeInstagramFacebook & Twitter!

Get discounted copies of my cookbook here.

Fortunately, because of the Ads on our website, readers and subscribers of Healthier Steps are sponsoring many underprivileged families.